Sharing a Note: 10 Spiritual Goals for a Breakthrough Semester

[tweetmeme only_single=false source=”matthew_bond”]

For a number of years, I had this list posted on my office wall as a great reminder of the basics in youth ministry. It’s not an original list, I didn’t write it – it was on a card that I received from a youth ministry resource group and for the life of me I can’t seem to find the original card. Lost in our move from Newport Beach to Menlo Park last fall, I suspect. I had copied it into notes to share with staff a while back and recently found the notes, but no card. So if you recognize this list and know where it comes from, please let me know – I’d like to give credit where credit is due but for now I can only say this comes from someone else whose wisdom I admire.  I fail often on keeping every goal but nevertheless I find it challenging and inspiring to review often. Suffice it to say, it’s a great list and I thought very worthy of sharing.

10 Spiritual Goals for a Breakthrough Semester:

  1. Make your personal relationship with Christ a priority (I Cor. 1:10, 2 Pet. 3:18)
  2. Pray for every kid you know everyday (Matt. 6:6, Acts 2:42, I Thess. 5:17)
  3. See the best, even when a kid is at their worst (Rom. 5:8, Luke 15:11-31)
  4. Become a partner with a kid’s parents (Rom. 12:10, James 4:11)
  5. Never, never give up on “fringe” kids (2 Pet. 3:9, John 21:15-19)
  6. Keep planting.  Sometimes fruit takes months or years (I Cor. 3:6, Gal. 6:9)
  7. Don’t just teach kids about Jesus, equip them for Kingdom service (2 Tim. 3:16-18, Eph. 4:11-13)
  8. Require kids who are following Jesus (and yourself, and leaders) to be in the Word daily (Psalm 119:9-11, Heb. 4:12)
  9. Keep seeking, keep serving (Matt. 7:7, Luke 19:10, Mark 10:45)
  10. Review this list at least once a week!

About Matt Bond

Husband to Katie, dad to Greyson, youth pastor @ Menlo Park Pres. Surf lots, bike lots, trying to love lots. View all posts by Matt Bond

Leave a comment